New Year, New Toy!

Happy New Year All!

Ok, confession time: I bought myself a pretty nifty Christmas present last December. A Nifty Fifty in fact, otherwise known as a 50mm fixed lens f/1.8 for my Nikon.

7

I don’t normally geek out about equipment, but here is a little explanation: In my photography reading I kept coming back to the principle of fast lenses, so called because the wider aperture (most lenses don’t go lower than f/3.5) allows for faster shutter speeds in low light shots. I also learned that fixed lenses, or lenses that don’t zoom, create crisper images. The advantages of a fast, fixed lens therefore would nicely compliment my super versatile 18-200mm zoom, which as wonderful as it is, limits me in low light situations, especially with food photography. Fortunately, a nifty fifty is one of the least expensive lenses you can get!

Over the holiday I tried my hand with the new lens across many different situations. With very little effort on my part, I saw a big difference in the results in all categories, including low light shots, food shots, and portraits. Incidentally, I can simultaneously show off the results of our Star Wars Themed New Years. 🙂

See the Nifty Fifty perform…

chicago street

…On A Chicago Street at Dusk

 

music box

…At Chicago’s Music Box Theater at night after watching It’s a Wonderful Life

 

cave

…In Mammoth Caves National Park

 

cookies

…On Christmas Cookies

 

bagels

…on Star Wars themed bagel dough

 

bagels2

…on Star Wars themed bagels

 

marshmallows

…On Storm Trooper Marshmallows

 

petter

…On a portrait of the strapping Petter

 

josefin model

…And on a portrait of the fabulous Josefin

 

nygroup

This was not taken with the nifty fifty; I just wanted to show off our New Years Star Wars Costumes.

 

cocktails

Regrettably, I also did not shoot this with the new lens. If I had bothered to switch it, I would have been able to get a lot more light in there. Even so, admire these Star Wars cocktails I invented: “Just another Tatooine Sunrise” and “Han Shot First.”

 

 

 

 

1 Comment

Filed under Inspiration and Creativity

One response to “New Year, New Toy!

  1. Fan Goodrich

    Love it, Em! I’ve got a fixed lense that I use 99% of the time too.

Leave a Reply

