Happy New Year! Love, the snowman and the bard

20131223_194032

Frost on the INSIDE of my car. Yeah.

Greetings from frigid Chicago! We just returned from sunny California to gobs of snow and the promise of a -10 degree high for Monday. We suspect the weather karma spirits are making up for the (comparatively) mild winters of late.

Despite the fact that no one around here seems capable of talking about anything besides the weather, I do love snow, and Chicago is a decent place for Cross Country Skiing. I also enjoy the month of January because, owing to everyone’s desire to stay inside, it is a time that lends itself to thinking, and specifically for thinking BIG about the new year. Got any 2014 resolutions or plans? What inspires you as we head into this new year? Do share!

I stumbled across this list of 10 resolutions paired with Shakespeare quotes. Here are some of my favorites:

  1. Do what you fear – “Boldness be my friend. Arm me, audacity, from head to foot.” –  Cymbeline, Act I, Scene 6
  2. Love your enemies – Heat not a furnace for your foe so hot that it doth singe yourself.” – Henry VIII, Act I, Scene 1
  3. Be patient – “How poor are they that have not patience! What wound did ever heal but by degrees?” – Othello, Act II, Scene 3
  4. Be positive – “It is neither good nor bad, but thinking makes it so.” – Hamlet, Act II, Scene 2
  5. Use time more wisely – I wasted time, and now doth time waste me.” – Richard II, Act V, Scene 5

I resolve to memorize more Shakespeare. Please hold me to it.

I also stumbled across this piece on this amazing dude who draws massive fractal designs in huge swaths of snow by way of walking through miles of it. Check it out!

The snowman creates.

The snowman created.

See more of the snow designs.

Leave a comment

Filed under Inspiration and Creativity, Life is good and here's why

Leave a Reply

