Hello World! (Again)

Me as animalGreetings, Blogosphere. I have returned.

After a three year hiatus I finally got myself to sit back down and renew my blogging efforts. I’ve wanted to stretch out my atrophying blogging legs for a long time now, but I admit, I felt reluctant.  I wanted to have something good to write about; something interesting and meaningful, but still fun. I wanted a theme because, after all, many blogs without themes are little more than a snazzy online diary, and I could hardly expect readers to stick around for that.

And then, inspiration struck.  No–literally, inspiration was the key to my theme problem. I wanted to study inspiration itself–track its sources, document its effects, and understand the process through which inspirational stimuli leads to creative breakthroughs.

The inspiration about inspiration came from stumbling upon a video featuring John Cleese speaking on his creative process (see below). The video wasn’t even that good, but I ate it up, and opened tabs for all of the recommended videos in the same vein. It was then I realized: I love creativity. I love learning about it, experiencing it in myself and others, and engaging with the products of creative genius.

I always knew I cared about being as creative as I could be.  My mother was one of the most creative people I ever knew, and in this and many other ways I aspire to be like her.  Not to mention, from the 3rd to the 6th grade I participated in a gifted and talented program that finished out each year with an independent study presented at the creativity fair.  I remember these studies and creative expressions as some of the most formative undertakings of my years of education, and since then, I have sought out opportunities to hone my creative metabolism.  But it wasn’t until that moment with John Cleese that I realized I cared about creativity itself.  After all, it all connects: we are created in God’s image, and God is the ultimate creative genius.  This means we are created creative, and therefore the study of creativity is the study of a glorious ability we all inherited from our Father.

So what will this look like? All kinds of things.  Inspirational stimuli can come from anywhere. I just want to pay more attention to when it hits and what it does to our minds, our worldviews, our work, and our relationships with God.  I expect sometimes it will be deep and blow your mind. Other times (I have no doubt) it will seem inane and just simply whacky for whackiness’ sake. Either way, I hope you will enjoy the ride with me.

Want to think big? Learn what thinking big means. Join me on this journey!

1 Comment

October 27, 2013 · 4:00 am

One response to “Hello World! (Again)

  1. lilagreer

    Em! Thank God for readers, you popped up first thing today and I’m delighted to find you back here. I’ve missed you, online and in real life, and was thinking of you and your creativity just yesterday. I’ve been meaning to resurrect my own blogging for some time, and your inspiration may be just the inspiration I need to take the last steps and just do it. So looking forward to all that you have to share! xoxo

Leave a Reply

