Triathlon Training

On June 28th Sleepy Hollow will have its first sprint triathlon, a trek of a half mile swim, a ten mile bike and a three mile run. It is a small triathlon, but just the right size for me. What with being unemployed and having plenty of time, a desire to be super duper fit, and a soft spot for bragging rights, I’ve signed up and begun to train.

The triathlon is actually a fundraiser for the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society. You can check out the fundraiser and donate money if you wish by visiting this site.

The training is really good for me, I am sure of it. I have the wobbling legs to prove it. At my stage of athleticism, each of the sections is totally manageable, and I could do two on a good day. All three poses a challenge, one which I am sure I can tackle, especially with my fancy shmancy expensive new shoes.

Some friends recommended a couple of different training tools. They look pretty cool so I thought I would share them with you. The first is One Hundred Pushups—a website that swears anyone can train him or herself to do one hundred consecutive pushups. I haven’t tried this yet, because I just got this tip today, but man, one hundred would certainly be badass! Check it out!

The second is Total Immersion swimming—a different technique for freestyle that saves energy. As soon as you see this video, you will understand why. The dude barely moves his legs at all! It is a very exciting prospect for the long distance swimmer. I have tried this one, and I think it will work, though I haven’t mastered the timing yet. There are a whole bunch of videos of this on Youtube, so if you are interested, just search for Total Immersion. I got a kick out of this video’s soundtrack.


Pray for the race!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

